Character Interview with Rachel Sullivan


Today I’m doing a guest post over on Literary Rambles on how to choose your publishing path, so I’ve asked Mark Petruska to let me interview Rachel Sullivan, the protagonist of his book, No Time for Kings, which is currently on sale on Amazon. I hope you enjoy the post!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hello, readers – Rachel Sullivan here, taking over Lisa’s blog for the day. If my name looks familiar, it’s probably because I’m a reporter for the Portland Journal. My recent story on Earth Fights Back, a radical group of eco-terrorists that had been wreaking havoc throughout the West, made the front pages when I came face-to-face with their brutal leader. If you want to read an account of that, Mark Petruska has written a thriller, No Time For Kings, available for sale through online bookstores everywhere in paperback and e-book formats. If you’ve got a Kindle, it’s only $2.99! It talks about my personal crusade to put a stop to the group while locked in a cat-and-mouse game in which there is only one winner. The critics like it, too; Portland Book Review says, “If a thriller is defined by the strengths of its villain, No Time For Kings is in dastardly hands” and San Francisco Book Review wrote, “Petruska’s debut novel is of a quality not usually seen in self-published books…(it) is engaging and well-written. (His) future as an author looks bright.”

That was a traumatic time for me; I still have nightmares over the ordeal! So I’m going to keep this interview lighthearted and talk about “safer” topics instead.

What is your most notable physical attribute?

My red hair. No, it doesn’t come from a bottle; I’m Irish! I’ve got the freckles to prove it, too. People are also drawn to my green eyes. I’m in decent shape for a woman in her mid-30s, but could definitely work on losing a few pounds. My butt’s too big for my liking. I blame it all on Voodoo Doughnut. Their maple bacon bar is impossible to resist!

Who is your best friend?

My daughter, April. Her father and I divorced years ago, and until my boyfriend Alex came along, we only had each other to rely upon. We love to go shopping and cook meals together, and gossip about people. April is in middle school now, and beginning to feel like she’s too cool to hang around with mom. I hope it’s just a phase! She adores Alex, by the way. That has been a real balancing act, considering he was her 6th grade teacher!

What is your biggest fear?

That Alex will fall off the wagon. He’s a recovering alcoholic, and sometimes struggles with his desires for booze. But he’s doing great, and instead of wine, we drink lots of grape soda or sparkling cider.

What is your greatest flaw?

I will go to extremes to champion a cause I believe in, occasionally putting myself in harm’s way without thinking things through clearly. I blame that on my Irish heritage. I’m very passionate and have a fiery determination, a combination of traits that means I’ll never back down from a fight – for better or worse.

What is your deepest regret?

Marrying Paul. Not only did he turn out to be a lying cheat, but he wasn’t even original. He’s a lawyer who ended up bedding his paralegal. How cliché! Having said that, if I hadn’t married Paul, I never would have had April. That softens the blow quite a bit.

Where were you born?

Right here in Portland! I’ve lived here my whole life, and love it. The people are friendly, the air is clean, the scenery is amazing, and the politics are liberal. What more could a gal ask for?

What is in your refrigerator right now?

Uh-oh! {Laughs nervously}. Grape soda and day-old Voodoo Doughnuts? No, I’m kidding. I’m sure there are some fantastic leftovers that Alex whipped up. Probably something with chanterelle mushrooms or truffle oil. He’s the cook in the family! I can barely boil water.

What’s in your immediate future?

A pedicure, hopefully! I haven’t pampered myself in ages. We’re planning a camping trip this weekend. April has never slept in a tent! I’d prefer a cabin myself, but Alex is all about “roughing it,” so we’ll go ahead and let him have his back-to-the-wilderness weekend…but next time it’s the Hilton!

There’s also a new story unfolding that I’m working on. A new drug has hit the streets of Portland, and is turning into an epidemic. We’re not sure how it’s making its way into the city right under the noses of law enforcement. There’s rumor of a connection to the old Shanghai Tunnels underground. I’m going to look into that. If it turns into anything big, maybe Mark Petruska will end up writing another book!

This entry was posted in Featured Books, Guest Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Character Interview with Rachel Sullivan

  1. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to interview my main character, Lisa! What a blast. You’re welcome over at my blog anytime.

    Like

  2. Rose L. says:

    Loved the interview. Rachael sounds like quite a gal!

    Like

  3. Barb says:

    Anyone who eats old donuts and grape soda is my kinda gal.

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    I love Portland-based stories. Can’t wait to meet Rachel.

    Like

  5. Lisa Nowak says:

    Thanks, Rose, Barb, and Beth for showing Mark and Rachel some love. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Interview With a Ghost: Cole Carter Speaks | Mark My Words…

Leave a Reply

