GETTING SIDEWAYS is now available


Getting shipped off to live with his uncle Race was the best thing that ever happened to fifteen-year-old Cody. Then a wreck at the speedway nearly ruined everything. Cody’s making every effort to get his life back on track—writing for the school paper, searching for the perfect girlfriend, and counting the days until he gets his drivers’ license—but there’s no escaping the nightmares that haunt him.

A chance to build his own car seems like the perfect distraction. Until Cody realizes he’ll have to live up to Race’s legendary status. But that’s the least of his worries, considering he doesn’t have his dad’s permission. All he has to do is the impossible: keep Race from discovering his lie until he can convince his dad that racing’s safe.

Yeah, sure. That’ll be easy.

Haven’t read the first book? What are you waiting for? Running Wide Open is on sale now for 99 cents.

***************

It’s finally finished. Almost six months to the day after I published Running Wide Open, I uploaded Getting Sideways. I’m shooting for three to four months to get Driven done, and I think I might be able to accomplish that, considering that I don’t have to do any landscaping, publish anyone else’s books, take a trip to California, or volunteer for any writing conferences. I also have absolutely no intentions of going camping, and though I am going to treat myself to a trip to Eugene, it will only be for a day. In other words, nothing but writing and marketing for the next three months.

I did my last major landscaping job for the season on Friday, a full two weeks after I’d normally be done. The last ten days of that were spent in colder than usual weather. If Mother Nature’s going to be late with letting the leaves come down, she could at least keep the heat turned up a little longer.

It’s been absolutely exhausting these last six weeks, doing double duty with the landscaping and the publishing. The pace I’ve had to keep up this entire year has been tough, but since the beginning of November, it’s been particularly brutal. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. Normally during leaf clean up season I can come home and relax for the rest of the day, but when you’re trying to put a book out, that doesn’t happen. But that’s all over with now. The landscaping is done. The book is published. And now I can finally get caught up on the social networking I’ve been ignoring (including reading all those blogs I’ve been neglecting) and make some serious strides with the marketing.

So here it is, launch day for my second title. I’ve busted my butt to get here, and I think it’s time to sit back, relax, and enjoy it.

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to GETTING SIDEWAYS is now available

  1. Tweeted, and congratulations! Put your feet up…you deserve the rest. (at least for a little while; as we know, the marketing beast never sleeps!)

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Thanks Chris! I’m so glad to be done with the book and landscaping. Now I have to sort out the disaster of my desk and my inbox. I figure in a few days I might feel almost human.

      Like

  2. Beth says:

    Yay! I’m going to dl GS right away.

    Please enjoy Christmas this year before you go back to butt-busting.

    Like

  3. Karen C. says:

    You continue to amaze me with your drive, work ethic, and smarts. A huge CONGRATULATIONS on your launch today. I can’t wait to reread “Getting Sideways.”

    Like

  4. Karen Hooper says:

    WOOT! So excited about this one. Congrats on your release day! Keep racing along with these books! 🙂 (Sorry, I had to use some kind of car/racing pun.)

    Like

  5. Alice Lynn says:

    You’re coming up on 2012 with huge successes in the current year. You’ve worked so hard that I hope you take some time to bask in the glow of Christmas and personal success. Well done!

    Like

  6. LOVE the cover, Lisa! Congrats on your release day.

    Wow, you’re busy. I became tired just reading everything you’ve been up to.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Thanks, Stina. The boy on the cover is my nephew. I wish I could borrow one of the girl models I’ve seen in your photos for my next book, since it’s about a teenage girl. You do such beautiful photography.

      Like

  7. Robin says:

    “If Mother Nature’s going to be late …she could at least keep the heat turned up a little longer” ITA! Congratulations, and sorry to read this just now. Looking forward to seeing you in 2012!

    Like

Leave a Reply

