Cover Reveal: Getting Sideways


It’s been a while since I posted anything personal. Things were crazy for me in October. For one thing, I had a five-stop author tour. It was a lot of fun, and I’ve had a great time hanging with the other members of the group in person.  As a result of this tour, Stacey Wallace Benefiel launched Pacific Northwest YA Authors, an organization that helps writers connect for moral support, technical assistance, and the opportunity to make appearances at schools and libraries. If you’re a published YA or MG author (traditional or indie) living in the Pacific Northwest, please feel free to join by visiting our website. If you’re a teacher or librarian and you’d like to schedule us to speak at your facility, please send us an email.

The success of this tour is direct evidence of the value of social networking. I met Stacey and Angela through Facebook. It’s so nice to get together and chat with people who know what you mean about the trials of converting a Word document to Mobi and ePub.

Live appearances are just one of the things that have been keeping me busy. With the leaves about the rain down on the streets of Portland with a vengeance, I realized I had to finish Getting Sideways, or I wouldn’t be able to release it before Christmas. I found out my editor had a slot available at the beginning of November, so I gave myself a deadline of completing my revisions by the end of the month, and I only missed it by a couple of days. It seems insane to me that edits should take so long, but it was all I could do to get through a chapter a day. I should have the manuscript back by the end of next week, then after making last minute tweaks (I hope that’s all it will need) I’ll send it to my copy editors and then start the formatting. It will be out in time for the holiday season, but I’m not sure yet whether that will be the end or November of the beginning of December. I should have a better idea in a week or so. The paperback will be a few weeks later than the ebook.

Another thing that kept me busy in October was that I had to make arrangements to get my cover designed, and since it’s difficult to find the stock photos I need, that meant taking some of my own. I was fortunate enough to get my 14-year-old nephew, Collin, to pose for the cover. He did an awesome job! My sister tells me he’ll probably sell books to all the girls in his class, since he’s on the cover. I guess he’s quite the freshman ladies man. Here’s the cover for Getting Sideways. I just love the colors. I think Robin Ludwig did an awesome job.

This month I’ll be featuring several YA authors on my blog as they release their books just in time for the holiday season. Stay tuned to be introduced to some great fiction!

This entry was posted in News, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Cover Reveal: Getting Sideways

  1. Kat Juniper says:

    Nice cover! Congratulations on getting it ready to go.

    Like

  2. I love this cover! It was also great fun meeting you and touring with you last month. I look forward to many more events with you. 🙂

    Like

  3. The cover looks great – and I’m impressed you did it yourself!

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Mark, to be clear, I didn’t design it, I just took the photo of the boy and did a rough mockup. My cover artist, Robin Ludwig, is the one who made it look good. I could never get the proportions right, even if I could figure out all that Photoshop magic.

      Like

  4. Orice Klaas says:

    Go, Lisa! I tell folks all the time about the quality of your work and about your book. It’s fun to follow your adventures on Blog. Eventually I’m going to get the librarians in Sherman County High School and Public Library (my old stomping grounds) to purchase your book. I know it would go over well there.

    Like

  5. Karen C. says:

    Way to keep plugging away, Lisa. I am impressed by your organized and dedicated approach to your writing. You’ve put in a lot of work, and I know it’ll pay off for you as you expand your network(s) and get your writing in more people hands. They’re gonna love your writing, your characters, and your message. I do. 🙂 And congrats on the great cover. You’re right…the colors are awesome. Hugs!

    Like

  6. Beth says:

    I love the cover! (And maybe Collin is on his way as a cover model.)

    Like

  7. Alice Lynn says:

    Great cover and congratulations on getting so close to deadline when you’ve been so crazy busy. Can’t wait to have a copy of Getting Sideways to sit along side Running Wide Open.

    Like

  8. Love the new cover!! How cool that it’s your nephew!

    Like

  9. terripatrick says:

    Oh goody, I just heard my 9 yr old grandson wants BOOKS for his birthday this week. 😀

    Like

  10. Roxie says:

    All the girls are gonna want to know how he laid down those skid marks. Better warn him to build a good story.

    Great cover! And big congratulations! You totally rock!!

    Like

  11. That’s a great cover! I love the tie in with the first one. And the picture of your nephew looks great! How awesome to be able to include family in the project.

    Like

  12. It’s done? YAY.
    Well, with your book off to edit, what are you going to do for the next week? You probably deserve some R&R.

    Like

  13. Great cover. Your nephew is a natural. Good luck on copyedits & getting the book out!

    Like

  14. rose lefebvre says:

    Hmmm…Is there a reason that all the shots of the guys are the rear only???? :^)

    Like

  15. Angela says:

    Cover looks great Sis, Collin love’s it and cant wait to show all his girlfriends. 🙂

    Like

  16. Todd McCann says:

    I like the new cover art! Still contemplating what I want for mine. Thinking is hard.

    Like

  17. The cover looks great. You’ve been busy but all the hard work has paid off and you have some amazing things to show for it. Keep up the awesomeness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

