Home Again, and Another Speedway Promotion


After my trip to Eugene, I came home for the weekend then headed up to Swift Forest Camp on the Lewis River for a few days of camping. I had a great time, but boy did Portland seem big, noisy, and overcrowded after being in the wilderness. I’d forgotten what real quiet sounded like.

The view from my tent

Between my trips, Bob and I headed out to River City Speedway in St. Helens to do another promotion. This track is more laid-back than Sunset, so they let me bring my books in and sell them. The announcer, Marty Colville, used to work at Portland Speedway, and he remembered me from my racing days there. He did an awesome job of promoting my book. I wound up selling seven copies. One of the highlights of the evening was seeing a boy reading Running Wide Open while the racing went on in front of him.

That book in his hands is Running Wide Open. Pretty awesome, huh?

It’s been a challenge getting caught up after being out of town for two weeks. I have a lot coming up, including a table at Wordstock, an appearance on a cable access TV show, and author visits in Portland, Beaverton, Corvallis, and Vancouver lined up for October. I’ll provide more details as the dates get closer. I’m fighting with myself over whether the vacation was a good investment, since I didn’t get as much writing done as I’d hoped to. But I learned some things about my writing process and stress triggers (the internet and email—who woulda thought?) and I got a chance to recharge the ol’ batteries, so it wasn’t a complete loss.

Since I’ve got a lot to take care of, I’ll keep this brief. If you’re interested, however, here’s a guest post I did on Amy Rose Davis’s blog regarding the double standard some folks have about the business of being an indie author. Now I just have to remember where I was before I left town. And plow my way through the 124 emails I got between noon Monday and 4 PM Thursday. Good thing my computer has a delete button. 🙂

Hotel room: $319. Euphoria Chocolate and duck souvenirs: $64. Reconnecting with my soul mate place and remembering how to relax: Priceless

This entry was posted in Guest Posts, News, Racing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Home Again, and Another Speedway Promotion

  1. I’m glad you got some relaxing done and I love the boy reading your book at the races! I was always the kid who read books at baseball games and it would make my parents so mad. But…how wonderful is it to be the person who makes a book more interesting than what is going on in front of you! Hope your vacation recharged you! P.S. I also liked the guest post…I don’t know TA you were speaking of, but boo!!!

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Rachele, if I’d been your parents I wouldn’t have gotten mad at you. 🙂 I saw a girl reading at the races a few years ago and told myself, “someday that will be my book in a kid’s hands.” And now it is. 🙂

      Like

  2. Beth says:

    Wow. I love the kid reading the book. I think I told you T-Rex finally admitted he enjoyed going to the race and would like to go again. Fifteen year old boys trying so hard to be cool are a pain in the rear sometimes. I hope he’s secretly reading the book. His mom hasn’t seen him doing it. I forbade her to “assign” it for summer reading.

    Like

  3. Alice Lynn says:

    Lisa, I’m impressed with your success! 🙂 Four author visits in October? Wow! Tell me more. I read your guest post on Amy’s blog. Very informative as usual. Glad you’re back in town.

    Like

  4. rose lefebvre says:

    A well-deserved break is needed now and then. I am glad you are recharged and ready to go!

    Like

  5. Good ol’ Swift Campground. I did my share of ranger programs there when I worked at Mount Saint Helens. Let me know if you go again–I’ll tell you how to find a lovely old-growth forest trail up the road a piece.

    And I’m chiming in to admire the pic of the kid reading, too! What a compliment!

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Pat, too bad I didn’t connect with you before I went. Last year we were at the same site and did some hiking, but this year I stuck around camp. I was trying to be good and get some writing done. Unfortunately, without power, that meant editing a hard copy then only turning the netbook on to enter the changes. It was a useful experiment, but it taught me that it’s not a productive or pleasant way for me to edit.

      Like

  6. You are doing such a great job at promoting your book! I am impressed!
    Hopefully many of your emails are spam.
    I love the ducks (and of course the chocolate). Sounds like the vacation was a great idea to me if you got to spend time refueling.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Liz, yeah, a lot of it was Facebook notices. I’m glad you like my promotion attempts. I saw a blog post today that gave me even more potential ideas for marketing. Now I just need about a month of uninterrupted time to implement them. 🙂

      Like

  7. I’ll be at Wordstock, too – sharing booth space with Portland Book Review. I’ll definitely come around and find you!

    Like

  8. I love the way you are marketing your books! And that shot of the reader? That is so awesome. It warms my story loving heart to see a kid reading at all, let alone while watching races going on.

    Like

  9. Sounds like the vacation wasn’t a loss at all! Love the pic of the boy reading your book, that’s fabulous. Welcome back…hope slogging through all the email went well!

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Chris, I guess it wasn’t a loss, I just feel guilty, especially since I’m still struggling to get through my edits to Getting Sideways. I’ve always scorned the whole “I don’t have time to write” excuse, but man, has it been tough to fit those revisions in lately.

      Like

Leave a Reply

