You Say it’s Your Duckday


Today is the day the Ducks make history by going to the BCS National Championship. It’s also my birthday. If the Ducks win, I think we should declare this a state holiday. Not that it shouldn’t be already, because it’s my birthday and all. Except then we’d have just one more day when I didn’t get mail, and that would make me cranky. Not that I get anything but invitations to apply for an American Express card.

I’ve supported the Ducks since I attended the U of O back in the mid-80s, but I never really got into football until this year. I still wouldn’t call myself a football fan. I just like watching my Ducks. Especially that LaMichael James. Boy, can that dude run! And I’ve got to say I admire the way coach Chip Kelly has instilled so much discipline and confidence in his team. They don’t choke under pressure, and while the Auburn players are whooping it up in Arizona, the Ducks have been doing what they went there for, preparing to win that game.

There’s been a lot of hype lately—in local newspaper and radio ads, on Facebook, even on national news programs. Heck, the Ducks even have their own power ballad. But I think my favorite bit of Duck propaganda so far is this photo I found on Facebook. It was already pirated, so I have no idea who designed it, and I fully expect someone might come complaining to me about copyright violation. I’m in no way trying to steal this person’s thunder. If anyone happens to know who created this photo, please let me know. This guy’s a genius and deserves the recognition. I’d like to promote his art, not pirate it.

Click to Enlarge

Here’s wishing all of you a Happy Duckday, even if you don’t celebrate. Now come on, Ducks! You know what I want for my birthday.

This entry was posted in Humor, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to You Say it’s Your Duckday

  1. Roxie says:

    Joyous felicitations on the anniversary of your natal event!! And Go Ducks! (It’s so much fun to align myself with a winner!)

    Like

  2. Elisabeth Miles says:

    That is one awesome and clever photo. I love it on several levels.
    Also Happy b’day. You are 29, right?

    Like

  3. EJ Wesley says:

    It was a good game, but I know it’s still bitter to taste. I’m an Oklahoma fan, and unfortunately we know all about getting to title games and losing.

    The Ducks have a great program and will have another shot in the years to come.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Thanks, EJ, for your condolences and birthday wishes. The last four minutes of that game were so intense, I had to love it anyway.

      Like

  4. EJ Wesley says:

    And Happy Birthday!!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Dumb question, but what are the ducks? All I know is they aren’t the national hockey team.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      LOL, Stina! Oregon has two big (and several small) public universities. One is the University of Oregon. Their sports teams are called the Ducks. Our football team made it to the national championship this year, for the first time ever, so it was a really big deal.

      Like

  6. I don’t follow football, but even I was deflated by the last 10 seconds of that game! LOVE the photo, that is too cool. And even with the loss, I still hope you had a Happy Duckday! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

