Kaia Herrin Earns Black Belt in Awesomeness


The Awesomeness is strong with this one.

My friend Kaia Herrin, a 6th grader at the Portland Village School, recently earned her black belt in Tae Kwon Do. Kaia blogs at Your Weekly Dose of Awesomeness and plays soccer for FC Portland. I’ve known her since she was this big.

Three-year-old Kaia chills in Mexico

Today I’d like to interview her so all of you can learn just how awesome she is.

Kaia, I was going to ask you to use one word to describe yourself, but then I realized I already knew what that word would be. Awesome. Am I right, or what?

Kaia: You are completely right!

What is your favorite thing about Tae Kwon Do?

Kaia: Not only is Tae Kwon Do exercise and self defense, it can also be really fun.

I understand that Tae Kwon Do isn’t just about kicking people’s butts. In a sentence or two can you tell me what the philosophy behind Tae Kwon Do means to you?

Kaia: Tae Kwon Do is about developing the five tenets of Tae Kwon Do, which are: 1. Courtesy 2. Integrity 3. Perseverance 4. Self Control 5. Indomitable Spirit.

Clearly it’s a bad day to be a board

If awesomeness was a color, what color would it be?

Kaia: If awesomeness was a color, it would be plum purple.

I know you like to read. What kind of books do you like best?

Kaia: My favorite kind of books are fantasy. I love being pulled into a new world whenever I read.

What are a few of your favorite books?

Kaia: My favorite books are The Hunger Games series, my favorite being The Hunger Games (well that sounded stupid!!!).

The Hunger Games books are pretty darn awesome. Okay, so if you could be a character out of any book, which one would you be and why?

Kaia: I think I would want to be Ali from Tamara Pierce’s Trickster’s Choice because it would be intriguing to live in her world.

Team Edward or Team Jacob?  Why?

Kaia: I think I would be Team Jacob because Edward is a creep.

There are a lot of women who would agree with you and say Bella and Edward’s relationship is an unhealthy example for girls. So way to go, being an empowered young woman! Okay, if you could have a super power other than the one you already have (supreme awesomeness) what power you would choose?

Kaia: If I could have a superpower, it would be the ability to fly!!!!!

If you could be reincarnated as a dog or cat, which would you choose and why?

Kaia: I would rather be reincarnated as a cat because they get to lay around the house enjoying themselves!!!

Yes, cats are pretty awesome that way. So in your opinion, what are the three most awesome foods?

Kaia: The three most awesome foods are: 1. Chocolate 2. Ice Cream 3. Pizza

If the last slice of bacon and the last piece of chocolate in the world were dangling from a cliff, and you could only rescue one, which one would it be?

Kaia: I would save the piece of chocolate because, as you can see above, it is the most awesome food ever!!!!!!!!

Well, I think your dad has been overrating your love of bacon. Obviously I’ve been misinformed. All righty then. Would you turn that piece of chocolate over to science so they could clone it for the good of mankind, or would you eat it right then and there? Go ahead and be honest. I won’t judge you. Rescuing is hard work, even for the supremely awesome.

Kaia: I would eat it right then and there because….. because I would want to.

Sounds like a good reason to me. Now how about telling me a little about your family. If your dad and mom got in a kickboxing match, who would win and why?

Kaia: My dad would because my mom’s knee would fly off.

For those of you who don’t know Kaia’s mom, Wendy, I should tell you that she was also a soccer player and messed up her knee in competition.  Okay, Kaia, I know this is probably the most un-original question an adult ever asked a kid, but what do you want to be when you grow up?

Kaia: I have no idea. I could be an author, a professional soccer player, a Tae Kwon Do teacher, there are a lot of possibilities.

Or maybe you could do them all. Well thank you so much for answering my questions. Best of luck with all your activities. I’ll be sure to call you the next time I need some boards broken.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Kaia Herrin Earns Black Belt in Awesomeness

  1. Marla Bowie LePley says:

    What great questions! That interview was….AWESOME! (p.s. I would also go for the chocolate and then be known as the last person ever to eat chocolate!)

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      You and Kaia would be fighting over the chocolate, and as I remember, you have some martial arts experience, too, so it might be interesting…

      Like

  2. Wow, Kaia IS awesome. Loved the interview!

    Like

  3. KS says:

    That was a great Q. & A.!

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    Great interview! Kaia rocks.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Yes, she does rock. That’s why we keep her around. Well, that and the fact that she can kick our butts and take our chocolate.

      Like

  5. Alice says:

    Lisa, you know the coolest people!I loved the interview with Kaia and am impressed with the young lady’s smarts, humor, and athletic prowess. Great photos too! Thumbs up to both of you!

    Like

  6. Todd McCann says:

    What a great interview! Really enjoyed it. But that’s just mean not letting us have the chance to clone the chocolate! LOL

    Todd McCann
    https://twitter.com/ToddMcCann
    http://abouttruckingjobs.wordpress.com

    Like

  7. moma escriva says:

    Enjoyed reading the Q&A. Great interview. Kaia seems to have a good head on her shoulders, and I think will go far in anything she decides to do.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Yes, Moma, Kaia’s definitely going to be one to watch. Now if they can just invent a 30 hour day so she can get everything done. She’s a really busy kid.

      Like

  8. Good to know that if the whole chocolate/bacon thing came to pass, we both wouldn’t go for the bacon. Because then Kaia would kick my butt. *whew*

    Fabulous interview! I’m off to visit Kaia’s blog now.

    Like

    • Lisa Nowak says:

      Yeah, Chris, you don’t want to get between Kaia and a piece of chocolate. That’s why I try to take some to her when I go visit. Then she never has an excuse to kick my butt. Now if only I could teach her dog Dempsey not to try to knock me down the stairs every time I’m over there. But I guess you know all about the enthusiastic puppy thing. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

