Under the Gun to go Under the Knife


So tomorrow’s the big day. My feelings are a little mixed about it. On the one hand, I’ll be glad to have this surgery over with, even though I’m not sure I believe that it’ll take care of my knee pain. And I’ve been busting my butt to get things done with my clients, my writing, and my yard, so I’m really, really looking forward to some down time. On the other hand, I’m just the teeniest bit nervous. I know this is a minor surgery and the risks are minimal, but you hear all the time of people having the wrong body part operated on. Of course I’ve taken precautions.

 

 

I also have a friend who wound up with a brain injury from a complication with anesthesia during a simple operation. I know, I know, it could never happen in a million years. I guess what’s worrying me more is that I don’t really know what to expect. I was told it would probably be about four weeks before I could go back to work, but then the doctor said he had a patient with a total knee replacement who was golfing in two weeks, and another who was still on a walker after six. So really, it just depends on the individual and whether there are any complications. I expect that my recovery will probably be closer to the short end of the spectrum, but one thing that makes this different from a simple arthroscopic meniscal surgery is that they have to cut my knee open to remove the cyst. And since it’s “multilocular” (it has lots of little parts) the doctor really isn’t sure how much digging around he’s going to have to do. Which means I really don’t know how much pain to expect. I’m preparing to be completely incapacitated for the first few days, but it may turn out to be a non-event.

I checked out a bunch of books from the library, just in case I’m too out of it to do any writing at first. I think I might have gone overboard, though. I’ve got a stack of 17 books, three of which I can’t renew, and now I’m feeling pressured to get them all read. Sigh. Why is it that even when it’s something as minor as taking a book out of the library, it feels like a commitment I have to honor?

Another thing that sucks about this surgery is that I have to be at the hospital at 5:30. In the morning. I feel really bad for my husband. This will be his second early morning this week, since he had to be a judge in a car show out in Forest Grove on Sunday. I’m trying to get everything watered in the yard, cat boxes cleaned, and laundry done, so he won’t have too much extra to deal with in the first few days.

On the positive side, I finished organizing my plot cards on Sunday. The cats, of course, had a hand in that.

 

 

Last night, I used the cards to rearrange the scenes in my Word document, so I now have an outline. I still have to enhance a few threads, but the majority of the work is done. In spite of having most of the stuff typed up so all I had to do was drag and drop, it took over six hours to whip the outline into shape. I’m so relieved to have this part done, because I know it would be hard to motivate myself to mess with boring stuff like this after surgery.

This entry was posted in News, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Under the Gun to go Under the Knife

  1. Elisabeth Miles says:

    LOL on writing on your knee. I wrote “NO!” on my good one. My surgeon laughed, but said it’s a good idea anyway. So when he repaired my right shoulder, I wrote “NOT HERE!” on my left one.

    Mine was a total replacement and I was back at work in four weeks. I probably could have gone back sooner, but I’d put in for four weeks, possibly six, so took the four.

    Best of outcomes. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts tomorrow and in the days to come.

    Like

  2. macrush53 says:

    Love the knee. You can’t be too careful. Sounds like you have been super busy getting ready and caught up. Having a positive outlook is important. good luck. Try to get some sleep tonight. Will be sending healing thoughts your way.

    Like

  3. Katy Skinner says:

    I love “not this knee.” The surgeon should laugh. Just don’t get hooked on vicodin! Be sure to post soon after surgery when you get home. Heeeey…might this mean you’ll be on FaceBook more ’cause you’ll be incapacitated? Bad for you; yay for me! ;P

    Like

  4. Great knee pic–and a good idea! Sounds like you’re all organized, from reading material to clients to novel outline–kudos to you. That means after the surgery, you can RELAX, REST, and HEAL.

    I’ll keep you in my thoughts for a smooth operation and fast recovery.

    Like

  5. rose lefebvre says:

    When I went in to have my total knee replacement, the nurse was the one who wrote “This one” on the leg they would operate on. I must admit that I did have difficulties after the surgery due to the anesthesia, but that was not unusual for me. I am sensitive to everything! I am sure you will be okay. I will say a little prayer for you!

    Like

  6. Kaia says:

    I think it’s hilarious and smart to write “Not this knee” on the other knee!!!

    Like

  7. Roxie says:

    Excellent precaution. If you need someone to run bedpans, read to you, sponge your brow with lavender water, I have some free time.

    Like

  8. Lisa Nowak says:

    Thanks everyone for the good wishes! The surgery went well and I have less pain and more mobility than I thought I would.

    Like

  9. That is too funny and reminds me of an episode of “House” where house was going to be put into a coma and wrote “not this leg” on one leg, and “not this leg either” on the other one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

