This, That, and the Weather


Ugh. I don’t know what it is about blogging that I find so difficult. I can get a million other things crossed off my list, but somehow I keep putting off writing a new post. I guess I think of it as too intimidating. There’s so much pressure to say something deep or fascinating, or at least interesting enough that it won’t make my readers jump off the nearest cliff from boredom.

So what’s up with me? Well, first off, I’ve survived the worst Oregon spring in my memory. Here are a few statistics:

  • Record number of rainy days in April—25 out of 30
  • 3rd wettest May on record, and the wettest in 65 years at 200% of normal
  • Coldest May in 20 years
  • Latest day to hit 80° EVER (previous record was June 9—we hope to hit 80 this weekend)
  • By June 4th we’d already exceeded our average monthly June rainfall

Since May 17th we’ve had 7.2 inches of rain (that’s at my house, I’m not sure of the official number). That’s more in three weeks than we typically get in December, our rainiest month. It’s more than we normally get in April, May, and June combined. We received between a quarter and three-quarters of an inch of rain on 13 of those 21 days. That’s the sort of rain that’s typical of November and December. But what’s not typical is to get it day after day.

This weather is getting to everyone, but for a landscaper it’s beyond aggravating. I’ve been lucky to get two or three days work done in a week. The yard debris compost is heavy and so sloppy it doesn’t look good even when it’s spread. I have $60 worth of seed potatoes withering away in my garage because it’s too wet to plow. And even if I did plow, they’d just rot in the ground. And the weeds—oh, don’t even get me started!

But all that’s coming to an end. After today, dry weather is forecast for the entire week. Hallelujah! I can’t wait to get out under that warm sun and whip my yard into shape.

This entry was posted in News, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to This, That, and the Weather

  1. Katy Skinner says:

    Those stats are INCREDIBLE! Good job compiling them all!

    Like

  2. I did not know all that! I keep calling this rain “liquid sunshine.”

    Like

  3. macrush53 says:

    I am frustrated as well. The weather is getting me down too. Enjoy the weekend.

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    Pay close attention to this stuff. By mid-September we will think of it longingly. “Remember back in May when it was cool and wet all month long?”

    “Yeah, looks like another 90 degree day today. When will it end?”

    “Who knows. Geeze I wish it would rain!”

    Like

  5. Elisabeth Miles says:

    I actually LIKE rain, but even I have to admit that this is finally getting me down. You’d think I would use all the rain as an opportunity to get more work done on my novel, and all my other (indoor) projects, but I find myself gazing out the window at the waterlogged landscape wondering “When will it all end?”

    Actually, it’s probably the cold that bothers me, not our lovely liquid, uh, liquid.

    Beth

    Like

  6. Alice Lynn says:

    Your stats are horrifying. As a native born Oregonian I’ve lived through wet springs before but this is absolutely the worst. My only consolation is that once summer arrives (see I’m an optimist) we will have a brimming water table!

    Like

  7. Wow, that is a lot of rain. It’s been wet here too.

    Like

  8. Helen Wand says:

    Thank God it hit 80 degrees yesterday! Tilled some of the garden, but it was so wet, it didn’t do much good. Hoping it will dry out in the next few days. Those stats are unbelievable! Thanks for the data.

    Like

  9. I knew it was bad when even the natives were getting twitchy.

    Also when we started getting more “severe weather alerts” than I’ve EVER seen in any winter here.

    I’m glad to see the stats say we’re not crazy…it really has been terrible! Hope the sun helps your business, and your own garden. As for my poor roses…oh, not pretty.

    Like

  10. Lisa Nowak says:

    Roxie, you will NEVER hear those words pass my lips. I like hot weather. I have no problem slinging compost when it’s 95°. Besides, hot weather never lasts longer than a few days around here, so there’s absolutely no reason to complain about it. Not even when it’s 103° on the day of your Summer Solstice party and every flower in your garden passes out from heat stroke.

    Beth, I like rain, too, in its native habitat: November, December, and January.

    Helen, I totally understand about trying to till. My seed potatoes are still in the garage, and my tomatoes are about 3 feet tall in the greenhouse, still in their little 4″ pots. I’ve given up on planting them. If this weather doesn’t change, it’ll be a rotten tomato year anyway (no pun intended).

    Chris, I know what you mean about the roses. The blooms on mine are rotting before they open, and the ones that have opened look terrible.

    Everyone else, thanks for commenting and sharing in the misery!

    Like

  11. Helen Wand says:

    Hey Lisa..Remember when I said I tilled on Mon. Well it had been several years since I had tilled and I really beat myself up. After a chiropracter appointment I am better, but am staying close to home. Probably won’t make the party, darn…Hope I am walking better by next Wed….

    Like

  12. Elisabeth Miles says:

    Just read a great book, called The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein. Seemed appropriate to the weather. Set in Seattle, about endurance racing, and family, and dogs.

    Like

  13. Lisa Nowak says:

    Beth, I loved that book. Cried my darned eyes out at the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

