I Made it to Hollywood!


I am now an agented author. On February 12th I signed with Lina Sion of Global Literary Management who will represent my YA novel, Driven.

I got “The Call” on Groundhog Day, which is interestingly coincidental. Groundhog Day is a secularization of Candlemas, which is rumored to be a Christianization of the Pagan holiday, Imbolic. All three of these celebrations in some way honor light and new beginnings. Groundhog Day the halfway point between the winter solstice and the spring equinox, a time when we begin to see the days getting longer, the cold weather losing its bite, the first hints of spring. In other words, it’s a perfectly time to start a new phase of my writer’s journey by being offered representation.

The days after The Call were devoted to research, asking questions, and consulting agented friends. Then I signed the contract, sent it off to New York, and waited for my copy to be returned. I suppose I could have made this announcement on the 12th, but superstitious me, I wanted everything to be 100% official before I went public.

A part of me never seriously believed this could happen. I’ve been working  so hard for so long that it seems a little surreal. And it changes many things. I’m now free to check my email without a burning feeling of dread. I’ll never again have to fear the sound of the mail carrier’s jeep. I can go to writing conferences without worrying about having to pitch. I no longer have to scour the Internet for information on agents to query. I can concentrate on my books, my landscaping, and my platform while leaving the selling up to someone who’s much more capable. I’ve been given the stamp of approval by the New York publishing industry, and while I’m sure I’ll continue to struggle with doubt—like every writer—I’ll always be able to look back on this and tell myself that somebody who knows books thinks I’m good enough. Probably the most important change of all is that I feel less cynical, more confident, and strangely calm.

It’s only been a few weeks, so I can’t say how long my optimism and composure will last, and yet I have a feeling that it’s going to stick with me. I’ve heard other authors talk about how much it sucks to be on submission, or how they constantly check their email to see if there’s any news. Maybe I’m being premature, but I don’t think it’s going to be that way for me. I don’t expect to sell my book overnight, and reality tells me that some books never sell at all. I’m perfectly content to have Lina handle this. I’m ready to turn the stress, anxiety, and hard work of submission over to someone else. I’m happy to be part of a team, to finally have someone in New York see in my manuscript what my writing friends noticed long ago.

Finding an agent is a lot like making it through to Hollywood on American Idol. It’s doesn’t guarantee that you’ll become a superstar, or even make it into the top 24. But you don’t have to be the #1 writer in America to be published, you just have to have a great story at the right time and get it in front of the appropriate people. Together, Lina and I think we have that winning combination.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Made it to Hollywood!

  1. Roxie says:

    YAYYYYY!!!! Go Lisa! Go Lisa! You earned it! You earned it!

    Success and prosperity to you! Don’t forget us when you’re famous.

    Like

  2. Casey says:

    I’m SO happy for you, Lisa. You’ve worked so hard for this. And I’m so glad to hear you’re feeling less cynical. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    Like

  3. Paul Greci says:

    Congrats to you Lisa!! Way to go!! Celebrate!! It’s a big accomplishment. And, your thoughts on submission are right on!

    Like

  4. Charlie says:

    Congratulations, Lisa! That’s fantastic news!

    Like

  5. Holy brown cows!! CONGRATS!!! I can’t believe you were able to sit on such amazing news for so long! Can’t wait to see where you go from here! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  6. jone says:

    Such great news! I know how long you’ve been at this. So happy for you.

    Like

  7. Rachele says:

    Conrats, Agent Mate! Here’s to wishing you the best of luck! BTW….groundhog’s day is my birtday! It’s always been a lucky day for me!

    Like

  8. Melissa says:

    Congratulations! I like to hear stories like this. I am about to begin querying and everything is doom and gloom. Best of luck to you 🙂

    Like

  9. Rose Lefebvre says:

    I KNEW it would happen! It just sometimes takes more time that we expect or want to wait!!!! I can picture your books on the shelves of every library, public and school!!!
    I am happy for you Lisa!!!

    Like

  10. YAY, Lisa! One of the most daunting hurdles on the journey is behind you. Kudos for your perseverance.

    Great info on G’hog day…I never knew any of that!

    Full speed ahead…

    Like

  11. Lisa Nowak says:

    Thanks, everyone, for your encouragement!

    Melissa, I’m totally with you on the doom and gloom stuff. If you ever need someone to offer a little cheerleading, just send me an email. I know how long and hard the process can be, and I want to help others to keep on keepin’ on.

    Chris, I knew you’d like the groundhog stuff. You’re always so interested in learning new things. 🙂

    Like

  12. shelli says:

    yay congrads on your decision! 🙂

    Like

  13. Dawn Simon says:

    Congrats! As you know, that’s huge!

    Like

  14. Ryan OBrien says:

    Way to go
    Best of luck

    Like

Leave a Reply

