T-minus 2. Where’s the Pause Button?


Here it is, the 23rd of December, Christmas rushing down on us like a jet plane coming in for a landing. No turning back now, folks!

I figured something out when I was a still a little kid. Presents were cool and all that, but the minute they were opened, the magic was over. It was the anticipation of Christmas that did it for me. The idea that people everywhere were on the same page, participating in something that was a little whimsical, a little kid-like. That’s a cool thing when you’re a child, getting a peek of grown-ups reverting to a younger, less practical self.

Every year, I’m more and more reluctant for Christmas day to arrive. I just don’t want to let go of that extra layer of happiness that covers everything going on in December. Yeah, I’m having a great time with my friends…and it’s Christmas. Sure, I had a good writing day…and it’s Christmas. Woo hoo, I got everything crossed off my to-do list…and it’s Christmas!

The season isn’t long enough for me. I don’t know how much more of it I want, maybe a week or two. Just enough that I’m ready for the next thing on the calendar.

This year we got ripped off, due to the way Thanksgiving plays musical chairs with the end of November. The Christmas season can begin as early as November 22nd or as late as the 28th. This year it was the 26th, which means we lost four potential days of the season. Does that mean I can keep celebrating until the 29th?

Actually, I have a better plan. In the book I’m working on, it’s the Christmas season. Many people recommend that a writer submerge herself in an environment that helps her connect with her story. Creating a soundtrack to play while writing is one key element. So I’m giving myself permission this year to keep on listening to all those holiday favorites. Hey, it’s in the name of literary progress, right?

Nighthawk Alarm Services in Carver - west end of display

Center of display

East end of display

This entry was posted in Musings, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to T-minus 2. Where’s the Pause Button?

  1. Rose Lefebvre says:

    What road is that place on in Carver? Their light display looks wonderful.
    I know what you mean. I have missed the Christmases I had when young…being a child so full of anticipation and wonder and awe…

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    The twelve day of Christmas start on the 25th of December, you know. Friends of ours when I was growing up used to save 12 presents and let the kids open one a day, then made a big party about taking down the tree and putting the decorations to bed untill next year. Go ahaead and extend the season all you want!

    Like

  3. Lisa Nowak says:

    Rose, it’s right on the 224. It’s a pretty awesome display, and the photos don’t do it justice.

    Roxie, you and Susan have both mentioned the 12 days, but for me it just seems like once the gifts are unwrapped Christmas morning, the magic is over. Even the feasting that takes place later in the day seems anticlimactic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

