Pre-Christmas Letdown


I have a confession to make. I already have post-Christmas letdown. How lame is that? Yeah, it’s only the 21st. We have 4 days of Christmas left. But each time I hear a Christmas carol, I wonder if this is the last time for the season.  Every spare moment is spent listening to these songs, because I just can’t bear the idea of going 11 whole months before hearing Jimmy Buffett sing Christmas Island again.

Right now I have the perfect combination, gray soggy weather outside, Christmas tree flickering cheerfully, Bing and Burl on the stereo, and a pile of presents on the floor (complete with kitties in the wrapping paper).

What do you mean we aren't helping?

Things have not been going as smoothly as I’d like with my WIP. I took a couple of days off last week to bake Christmas cookies and somehow I lost my momentum. I’m getting a few words down, but it’s a stumbling, awkward process. I’ll put the characters together in a scene, knowing I have to get them from point A to point B, but not having a clue as to how to get around the bottomless pit in the middle. I’ll stare at the screen, check my email, get up to put on another Christmas CD, check the Doppler radar, then stare at the screen some more. Occasionally a character will say something, and I realize, there’s my way in. If I could only get those moments to happen more frequently.

Ah, well. I guess it’s time to go elf myself. Happy holidays!

This entry was posted in Musings, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pre-Christmas Letdown

  1. Roxie says:

    You elf quite nicely. And you have 12 days after the 25th before Christmas is over.

    Like

  2. Casey says:

    Aww I love the snow on your layout. And the kitties are so cute!

    Christmas is my favorite time of year and I’m always sad to see it go as well.

    Hope your writing starts cooperating for you soon!

    Like

  3. Lisa Nowak says:

    Roxie, thanks for the compliment, but I think I’m out-staged by the cats and particularly the alpaca.

    Casey,it’s good to know there are others like me out there. The scrooges are so much more vocal that I’ve spent most of my life assuming I’m just some sort of holiday freak. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

