The Best Month of the Year


Kerria Japonica in all its splendor

Kerria japonica in all its splendor

There are four months I absolutely love.

July for its piercing blue skies, flowerbeds a blaze of color, and sizzle-bright days that last far into evening.

October with every hue of red, yellow, and orange turning the trees to flame.

December, because my appreciation for Christmas could shame a six-year-old.

And April.

A japanese maple leafing out

A Japanese maple leafing out

April is pure energy. The air practically sparks with it. On cloudy days, the chartreuse of new leaves stands out electric against the somber gray of the sky.

Look at me! Look at me!

Look at me! Look at me!

Flowering trees scream, “look at me! Look at me!”

Sweet, startling scents ambush you around every corner.

And you can almost see the plants growing, like those stop-motion films they showed back in third grade.

A redbud on the verge of blooming

A redbud on the verge of blooming

Do I have a favorite month? At this moment it’s April, but come summertime, it will be July. And when the leaves begin to change, October will bump its way to the top, only to be replaced by December once the Christmas carols start playing.

The beauty of it is that I don’t have to choose.

I get to have them all.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Best Month of the Year

  1. Roxie says:

    Lyric! And oh so true. You may be stiff, sore, and soaked right now, but it IS a good time to be a landscaper!

    Like

  2. I helped Tish dig out a big rootball, and then helped Dolly across the street get a start digging her pond.

    I wish there was more to do! I like helping.

    I love spring, too.

    Like

  3. Alice Lynn says:

    What a lovely reminder to find beauty in each day and every season.

    Like

  4. Barb says:

    Oh yes. Aren’t these days heavenly? Maybe it’s the extra sunlight. Maybe it’s the promise of more green things to come. I think it’s just ability to work in the yard without a raincoat and several layers of clothes.

    Gorgeous pictures. Wonderful words. If feels like spring inside your blog.

    Like

  5. shelli says:

    for me – april = pollen season :0

    Like

  6. Pat says:

    Dang. Wish I’d said that! So lovely & so true.

    Like

  7. Beautiful post! The Pacific NW has the most gorgeous springs I’ve ever seen; we’ve been here fifteen years and every year, I’m amazed. It’s not just the visual beauty, but as you mentioned, the fabulous scents wafting from every yard. Mmmm…what’s not to love?

    Like

  8. shelli wells says:

    its quiet over here 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

