25 Things About Me


This is a Facebook deal, but I’m posting it on my blog because I don’t have time to create two posts today. If you’re not on Facebook, ignore the rules listed below.

Rules: I’m re-writing the rules because I know many of you are probably too busy for this. Also, I realize that people are hesitant to tag their friends and give them another task to do.

Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about yourself. But if you can only come up with 5 or 10, that’s cool. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged, but only if you want to. You have to tag me because I want to know more about you. If you don’t have time, feel free to blow this off. I won’t be in the least insulted.

  1. I thrive on stress and see a big to-do list as a challenge, but if the list gets too long and I feel like I’m not in control anymore, I freak out. Being in control is sort of an issue for me.
  2. I’ve gotten so good at taking care of business that when I get a break I don’t know what to do with myself. It makes me feel anxious not to have something to do.
  3. I like to smile at people in public because when they smile back I feel like I’ve won some kind of mini-lottery.
  4. I spent 13 years building and driving race cars before I wised up to the fact that it was a second full-time job and a total money suck. Now I just write YA books about stock car racing.
  5. I’m good at using computer software to organize information and I apparently do it in non-traditional ways. When I used Excel to make a study sheet for my plant ID class an instructor was blown away by the idea. I still haven’t figured out what the big deal is. Who said an Excel spreadsheet had to have numbers in it?
  6. Software in general is pretty intuitive to me, however the inner workings of a computer are not.
  7. In my writing, character and dialog come naturally, but I still freak out and question my abilities when I read advice on character and dialog in writing books. I think I should trust my instincts, but what if I’m wrong?
  8. I love to sing but I have one of those voices that sounds best if it has other voices to follow. When it does, it’s like it takes off on it’s own and does things I have no control over. Cool, but weird.
  9. Facebook applications (other than Superpoke) drive me up the wall. I don’t have time to respond to all the requests and I feel incredibly guilty when I ignore them. So if you’ve sent one, don’t take it personally that I’ve left it to die a slow death in my Requests box.
  10. I love to eat but I stay relatively slim because I also exercise. I do 3 sets of 15 pushups, 3 sets of 15 sit-ups, a ten-minute quasi-QiGong routine, and a 2-mile walk every day. In summer I only walk 1 mile because I do so much physical labor at my landscaping job.
  11. This past week I’ve been sort of hit-or-miss about my walk and I feel really guilty about that.
  12. I like gardening and used to use it as a way to relax. Doing it as a business has taken away some of the magic, thought, and being so busy makes it stressful. I have to cram too much into the days I set aside for my own yard.
  13. I worry all the time, but with some things that are too big I go straight to denial and don’t feel them at all.
  14. I think time is more valuable that money.
  15. I hate inefficiency and waste.
  16. Because of reasons 14 and 15 I have a strong distaste for working for big companies.
  17. I like to watch medical TV shows even though I know that from a scientific standpoint they’re largely a load of crap.
  18. I’m helping put together my 25-year high school reunion, and I’m continually surprised and delighted by how friendly and helpful everyone is. We weren’t all friends in high school, but we’re becoming friends now. I think a lot of us are getting some closure out of the process, and after all these years that’s incredibly cool.
  19. Christmas is my favorite holiday and I get all depressed when it’s over. This year I did okay, but when I was young my post-Christmas letdown would last until March.
  20. Humor is a very important aspect of my life. I like to see it in movies and books, and I enjoy hanging out with people who are funny. There is scientific evidence that laughing is good for you, so I think I’m onto something.
  21. I love cats and hate being cold.
  22. My husband is 18 years older than me but he still acts like he’s in 6th grade. That’s one of the things I love about him (see humor, above).
  23. I love Mexican food and could eat it every day. Same goes for chocolate.
  24. I like books and movies that are touching and sentimental, but I hate melodrama. Go ahead and manipulate my emotions, but it better not be a clunky, awkward, obvious attempt or I’ll put your book down or turn off your movie.
  25. I spend far too much time with blogging and Facebook, which makes it tough to get my real work done.

To tag someone else, go to “notes” under the tabs on your profile page, paste the instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click “publish”.

This entry was posted in Humor, Musings, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 25 Things About Me

  1. Roxie says:

    Also, you are sweet, funny, kind, loveable, smart, and the hardest-working person I know. And you make killer brownies!

    Like

  2. I let Facebook applications die, too! Glad to know I’m not the only one. It’s usually because I can’t understand the point of whatever application someone is sending me.

    Loved reading this. I especially agree with #14: Time is definitely more valuable than money. You can always get money back.

    Speaking of time…I’ve been tagged three times in the past two weeks with this. One day I’ll have to get to it…

    Like

  3. lisanowak says:

    Roxie,

    That’s the second time in the past week you’ve mentioned my brownies. Are you jonesin’ for ’em? πŸ™‚

    Chris,

    I purposely didn’t tag you when I was tagged on my blog and on Facebook. I know you’re busy and I heartily respect that. Someone else must’ve got ya. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    Your brownies are sort of a symbol of you for me. Labor intensive, exotic, full of goodness and unexpected depths of dark, complicated flavor and nuance. Impossible to ignore. Please don’t make any. I’m having enough trouble with my weight as it is.

    Like

  5. Damn, now I want your brownies. Who wouldn’t, after a review like that? πŸ™‚

    And yeah, it was three other somebodies who tagged me. Thanks for not piling on! I will get to it, but God knows when.

    Like

Leave a Reply

