Snowbound in Portland


With the wild weather in Portland (and from what I’ve heard, throughout much of the US) I’ve been reading a lot of blog and Facebook posts grumbling about the snow. Come on, guys! You are part of a historical weather event. Years from now you’ll brag about this snowstorm.

So what, you say? Okay, let me put things into perspective for you.

Are you stranded at the airport? I didn’t think so.

Do you have power? There are 50,000 PGE customers who don’t.

Do you have heat? My friend Mary’s furnace went out last week. I don’t know if it’s been repaired yet. Another friend, Elisabeth, has neither power nor heat and can’t get up her long, steep driveway to go somewhere warm.

Do you have a house to stay in? Lots of homeless people are out in this mess.

Are you required to go to work regardless of how much snow is on the ground? My friend Karen is a 911 dispatcher and going to work is mandatory for her. She lives out in the sticks, so she’s been staying with a friend in town and taking the bus. Yesterday she saw a tire on the bus ahead of her catch fire and she was just glad it wasn’t her bus.  She grew up in the tropics and she hates this weather, but every day she adds to her Grateful List Project and posts it to Facebook. Kudos to you, Karen!

Here are some things I’m grateful for:

100_02762

A little Christmas cheer

100_03191

Twinkling lights on my fence

100_03311

The neighbor's beautiful lights

I’d like to close this post with some words of wisdom sent to me and others in my writing group by my friend Linda: “May all the plans you had which have been upset be replaced by even better, spur of the moment, serendipitous events. Enjoy the moments.”


This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snowbound in Portland

  1. Katy Skinner says:

    That’s an uplifting post! Yes, we have much to be thankful for over here at our house!

    Like

  2. SusanLS says:

    Ah…you’re so nice and philosophical. And, of course, you’re right. But I do reserve the right to whine a little bit if this is still going on for my birthday! My kid is supposed to come down for Christmas and my birthday but she’s trapped by the snow. However, she is safe and warm and, most importantly, NOT DRIVING. And I finished the book and sent the invoice. So I can work on a new one tomorrow.

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    Good for you, Lisa. Great photos by the way!

    Like

  4. Wonderful post, Lisa, and gorgeous photos!! As for me, I’m LOVING this weather. Snow, baby, snow!

    (I would add to your questions: “Is your house holding up OK?” So many people with busted or frozen pipes, roof leaks, and worse. If your house is snug, dry, and shipshape, that’s a HUGE reason for gratitude right there.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

