Christmas Getting to Know You


Several of my blogging buddies have posted the following Christmas “getting to know you”.  Here are my answers. I’ll warn you, I’m a total fruitcake when it comes to Christmas.

  1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Usually wrapping paper—but I feel guilty about it.
  2. Real tree or Artificial tree? Artificial. They can’t grow a tree that will live 6-7 weeks in my office which is a little on the warm side. (I can’t stand being cold.) But I love real trees and only put up with the artificial one due to necessity.
  3. When do you put up the tree? The day after Thanksgiving
  4. When do you take the tree down? Usually around my birthday (Jan. 10) but last year not until January 17th.
  5. Eggnog or Hot Cocoa? Hot Cocoa with cinnamon schnapps
  6. Turkey or Ham? Usually turkey, but I have nothing against ham.
  7. Grinch or Charlie Brown? The Grinch rules. I love when his heart grows three sizes!
  8. Favorite gift received as a child? I don’t remember. To me it was always more about it being Christmas than getting gifts. When the gifts are unwrapped, the fun is over.
  9. Christmas cards? Yeah. I like to make my own. They always have photos of my cats on them.  Keelan was so cute in his Christmas hat!kiwihat1
  10. Favorite Christmas Movie? Oh, wow. Hard to decide. I really like A Christmas Story.
  11. Pumpkin or Pecan Pie? Both. Really I prefer Key Lime. Or Sour Cream Cherry. Or…heck, who am I kidding, I just like pie.
  12. White lights or colored lights? Colored. I particularly like blocks of color. Red on one shrub, green on another.  And I love those strings where the lights twinkle on and off randomly one at a time rather than the lights-in-motion kind. Though those are cool, too.
  13. Favorite tradition? Staying up really, really late on Christmas Eve to extend the season as long as possible.
  14. Favorite Christmas song? Actually, I’m a sucker for almost any Christmas carol, but I particulary like Mary’s Boy Child by Boney M, God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Barenaked Ladies and Sarah McLachlin, The Little Drummer Boy by David Bowie and Bing Crosby and The Christmas Cannon by Tran-Siberian Orchestra (you can see the video here. For some reason seeing these little kids singing always makes me all teary. And I’m not that much of a wimp).
  15. Travel at Christmas or stay home? Stay home.
  16. Most annoying thing about this time of the year? It’s over too soon.
  17. Favorite ornament theme or color? Bubble lights. I love bubble lights.
  18. Eat on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day? Christmas Day.
  19. Spend it with your family or Inlaws? Christmas Eve with family and friends who are family, Christmas day with inlaws.
  20. What is Christmas about to you? A feeling of shared community-like everyone’s on the same page for a few days in December.  A sense of hope.  A recapturing of the awe of childhood—suspending my cynicism and believing in magic. Christmas just makes me feel so happy and I love it!
This entry was posted in Humor, Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Getting to Know You

  1. SusanLS says:

    Don’t forget Christmas being about hot buttered rum (which I’m making today in honor of the snow – don’t worry, the batter keeps in the freezer for months so there will still be plenty for the Chrysalis lunch – although the rum will be gone!)

    However, being as you are one of the great unchurched, your favorite theologian would like to explain to you that the Christmas season actually starts late on the 24th with the 25th being day 1 of the twelve days. Day 12 is January 6th, the Feast of the Epiphany, which is the day your tree should come down and be burned, reserving a piece as your ‘yule log’ to start next year’s Christmas fire. Not that we do all that crap. We don’t keep the burned tree because we don’t burn our tree……And the only reason our tree is going up next weekend is because you’re all coming here on the 22nd.

    Anyway, let it snow! Let me drink! Old movies, Jenny, hot buttered rum, a good dog, and a bad cat. Life is good. Well, except for the bad cat part. Oh, and the too dang much work part.

    Susan

    Like

  2. Christmas is the only holiday I still get excited about…and the snow that came yesterday is getting me in the Christmas spirit something fierce!

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    The snow day at school has given me leisure to enjoy my favorite blogs. Oh, Lisa, for such a wise-ass, you have such a tender streak! Hooray for Christmas and for people who love it.

    Let’s get together in the summer and make out own giftwrap. Some old newspapers,some recycled housepaint from Metro, a few stencils, and we are good to go!

    Like

  4. lisanowak says:

    Susan, thanks for the yuletide lesson. I think the EPA would have something to say about me burning a chunk of my artificial tree.

    Chris, I know what you mean. The snow has really added to the festivities. Not that I need any help getting into the Christmas spirit. 🙂

    Roxie, welcome home. The weather gods played a trick on you, eh, when you came back from Hawaii to this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

