Library blues


I’ve got a beef with my library’s online reservation system. For some reason it will no longer keep track of my book list.  Every time I log out of their website, the new entries disappear.  I discovered this when I opened the list to reserve some of the many books I’ve added to it over the past few months. Books from April Henry’s reviews in the Oregonian, those recommended in by other authors, and those I’ve stumbled across online. Gone, all of them.

It made me pretty cranky to learn that what I thought was a bulletproof safety deposit box for recommended reads had been ransacked by an electronic glitch. Now I have to compile my book list in Word, which is a pain in the butt. It requires me to actually type, something I do only marginally better than your average earthworm.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Library blues

  1. Bridget Zinn says:

    Do you have a Mac, Lisa? It comes with digital sticky notes for your desktop. PC’s might have something like it, I don’t know. I’ve been copying and pasting book rec’s onto it because it’s easy to get to when I have room on my hold list. It was a huge shock when I came here and discovered you could only put fifteen books on hold at a time (instead of the 100 I was used to!) and the sticky note system helps. You might have to do a bit of typing now and then, but anything you find digitally you should be able to copy and paste with your shortcut keys.

    Bridget

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    Earthworms, being devoid of fingers, let alone thumbs, find typing virtually impossible, which may be why we have not yet seen the Great Literature of the American Earthworm in Cliff Notes.

    The blog is looking good.

    Like

  3. Ruth says:

    Your sense of humor and seriousness is so eliciting. I wish I was more techy savvy like you. Blogs, smlogs! (I’ll live it to you for now.) I am glad that involvement in a variety of writing groups is adding to your repetoire of experiences and confidence.
    I think being contented is essential..and sometimes happiness, health, fulfillment…is not a part of that. I don’t always feel happy, but I am contented with me and what’s happening around me. I think it has much to do with my faith and who God is.
    Thanks for the reading today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

